Managing a Position User Guide

Closing a Position

When a search is complete, the Administrator will need to officially close the search in Interfolio. A search will either be closed with a hire or closed with no hire. Please follow the process appropriate to your search outcome.

Note: If the search process is ongoing, but you no longer want to receive applications or have your job posting visible on the UW Academic Personnel Job Board, you should not close the position. Closing it affects Evaluator access to applicant materials and should not be used if review is still in progress. Instead, you should follow steps to unpublish the position as described earlier in this user guide.

Closing with Hire

If your search has been successful and a candidate has accepted an offer, you must assign a disposition code, the reason for not moving forward in the hiring process, to any applicants who don’t already have one. Repeat the process outlined in the Assigning Statuses and Disposition Codes section of this user guide.

Interviewees who were given the Not Top Ranked Interviewee placeholder status, must be changed to another status that reflects why they weren’t the preferred candidate. You will need to filter your applicant list to see Archived applicants in order to make this update.

Once you have assigned a disposition code to all your applicants, complete the following critical steps:

  1. Change status to Search Complete.
  2. Under the Position Actions drop down menu choose Close Position.

On the Closing Position page, indicate that an applicant was selected to fill the position by clicking Yes. If one or more applicants was selected to fill the position, click Add Applicant.

Note: If you indicate a selection was made, you must select at least one applicant to continue.

A list of available applicants will appear in a window. Find the name of the applicant(s) you want to select, and click “Add”.

You can sort the list of applicants by name, email, and status. You can also search the list by name or email address, and fill the list by status.

Next Steps

Positions created July 1, 2018-January 3, 2019

Once you’ve completed this step, the position will be closed. Note: Please be sure all candidates are assigned a disposition code before closing.

Positions created after January 3, 2019

Click “Close” to send the selected applicant(s) for approval.

This opens a page that lists the approver for the selection. The approver(s) displayed will receive an email indicating that a selection has been made and is awaiting their approval. You can personalize this email with a message to the approver.

The position will now appear under positions as Waiting for approval.

Once the position is approved by Academic HR, your position is closed.

The position will no longer appear in the list of active positions, but will appear in the list of closed (archived) positions viewable by setting the positions filter to display closed positions.

When submitting a New Hire, Transfer or Lateral Move process in Workday for a new faculty hire that is associated with an approved line on your approved Hiring Plan, units should enter the hiring plan number and the Interfolio ID number into the “Comments” section of the Workday business process.

To find these numbers, open the Internal Information page of your Interfolio ad. The hiring plan number should have been entered in the “Position ID or Requisition Number” field.

Closing without Hire

If you are closing your search without a hire, you must assign a disposition code to any applicants who don’t already have one. Repeat the process outlined in the Assigning Statuses and Disposition Codes section of this user guide. Interviewees who were given the Not Top Ranked Interviewee placeholder status, must be changed to another status that reflects why they weren’t the preferred candidate. You will need to filter your applicant list to see Archived applicants in order to make this update.

If an offer was made and the preferred candidate declined it or it was rescinded, that applicant must be assigned either the Offer Declined or Offer Rescinded disposition code.

Once you have assigned a disposition code to all your applicants, complete the following critical steps:

  1. Change status to Search Complete.

      2. Under the Position Actions drop down menu choose Close Position.

On the Closing Position page, indicate that no applicant was selected to fill the position by clicking ‘No’. You have the option of leaving a note to document why no hire was made. Click Close Position.

Closed without hire screenshot

Your position is now closed. The position will no longer appear in the list of active positions, but will appear in the list of closed (archived) positions viewable by setting the positions filter to display closed positions.

Last updated April 25, 2019 at 9:55 am