Founded November 4, 1861, the University of Washington is one of the oldest state-supported institutions of higher education on the Pacific coast.

The University of Washington is a state institution, which means:

  • We are accountable to taxpayers in terms of how we use our resources.
  • We are affected by the state legislature.
  • We operate on a biennium (2-year) basis.
  • We are bound by the State Ethics in Public Service Act (RCW 42.52).
  • Any funding received by UW is subject to Washington State fiscal regulations.

The University Mission

The primary mission of the University of Washington is the preservation, advancement and dissemination of knowledge. The University preserves knowledge through its libraries and collections, its courses, and the scholarship of its faculty. It advances new knowledge through many forms of research, inquiry and discussion; and disseminates it through the classroom and the laboratory, scholarly exchanges, creative practice, international education, and public service. As one of the nation’s outstanding teaching and research institutions, the University is committed to maintaining an environment for objectivity and imaginative inquiry and for the original scholarship and research that ensure the production of new knowledge in the free exchange of facts, theories and ideas.

Campuses and Facilities

The University of Washington has campuses in Seattle, Bothell and Tacoma. UW Medicine owns or operates Harborview Medical CenterNorthwest Hospital & Medical CenterValley Medical CenterUniversity of Washington Medical Center, a network of nine UW Neighborhood Clinics that provide primary care and secondary care, the physician practice UW Physicians, the UW School of Medicine and Airlift Northwest.

University Administration Information

Board of Regents


Provost and Executive Vice President

Chancellor, UW Bothell

Chancellor, UW Tacoma

– Continue to Getting Settled –